Uncategorized

Baked Apples with Brown Sugar and Cinnamon

Fall is upon us. Well, maybe, if you live in a state besides Florida. We’re still seeing 90 degree days here. Anyway, I’ve been preparing myself for fall in hopes that maybe the weather will reflect the season soon. I’ve been buying pumpkin everything, I got some new winter wardrobe staples, I’ve been downing entire bags of Halloween candy like nobody’s business and I just stocked up on my favorite fall candles. Not to mention I like to keep the window open during the mornings and evenings when it’s not too hot to bear.

But one thing that always makes me think of fall is baked apples. I saw some great Honey Gold apples at the farmer’s  market the other day and I knew this is what I’d make with them. It’s one of the easiest things to bake, it tastes great as dessert (or breakfast, depending on how liberal your view of “breakfast” is) and the best part is that it makes the entire house smell like cinnamon, a.k.a. fall.

I served mine with caramel toffee ice cream and it was absolute perfection.

wpid-wp-1444614352594.jpg

Here’s my recipe:

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 30-45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • Apples – any kind you prefer, but some apples are better for baking than others.
  • Butter
  • Brown sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Ice Cream – optional
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Core the apples, either using a melon baller or a knife. Just be sure to remove all the seeds, and leave the bottom intact so the filling stays inside.
  3. In a microwave safe bowl, melt butter until it’s soft. Mix with brown sugar and cinnamon until a paste is formed.
  4.  Set the apples upright in a baking dish.
  5. Fill each cavity with the mixture and cover the top of the apple with it. Sprinkle some extra cinnamon on the tops. Any remaining sugar mixture can go in the bottom of the baking dish.
  6. Once all apples are filled, add just enough water to cover the bottom of the dish. This prevents the apples from drying out while baking.

wpid-wp-1444613413967.jpg

7. For smaller apples, bake for about 30 minutes. If the apples are larger, it might take up to 45 minutes. You’ll be able to tell when the apples are done when they start splitting. The filling will be hot and bubbly.

8. I spooned the extra sauce from the bottom of the dish all over the apples and then topped with ice cream.

To save the leftover apples, I just left them in the dish, covered with foil and put them in the fridge to eat later. Enjoy this taste of fall!

Leave a Reply

